Hit Enter to search or Esc key to close

Gorillas are herbivorous apes inhabiting the forests of central Africa. They are divided into two;

  • Eastern Gorilla
  • Western Gorilla


Gorillas are the most powerful and striking animals not only for their size and force but also their gentle human like behaviour . The DNA of gorillas is similar  to  that  of  humans from  95%-99%.  Gorillas are totally different from monkeys for a variety of reasons , gorillas  have got a more developed brain like that of humans , they are larger, have got no tails , they walk upright for a longer  period  of  time . Gorillas  are  highly  intelligent  and  they  use  sign  language,  they  can  laugh  and  the  same  time  be  sad, they  grieve , and  have  a rich  emotional  live,  they  develop  very  strong  family  bonds. Gorillas  live  in  groups  called  troops,  they  are  ground  dwelling  and  they  live  in  groups  of  6-12  with  the  oldest  and  largest  silverback  leading  a family  of  females  .  The  silverback  makes  decisions  on  when  his  group  wakes  up,  sleeps ,  eats,  moves ,  and   when  to  rest  night.  He  protects  his  family   at  all   times  from  the  enemies. The   silverback tends  to  be  very  aggressive.  Gorillas  construct   a nest   on  where  to  sleep at  night   with   leaves  or   any   other  plant  materials .  Mother  gorillas  share  nests  with  their  nursing  infants.  Young ones  tend  to  leave  their  family  as   they  grow  older .

Each  time  of  the  day  has  its  purpose  for  a troop  of  gorillas. Mornings  and  evenings  are  feeding   time. In  the  middle  of  the  day  gorillas  take  a nap,  play  with  one  another  or  groom  one  another.  At  night   gorillas  settle   down   in   beds   made   of   leaves   and  twigs.


Gorillas  are  generally  herbivores  and  usually   their  diet  depends  on  where  they  live.  Mountain  gorillas  mostly  eat  foliage ,  such  as  leaves  ,  stems,  pith,  shoots,  fruits,  veins,  tree  pulp, celery,  tree  bark,  roots. They basically  eat  vegetation.

Gorillas  lifespan  is  normally  between  35- 40  years. Zoo  gorillas  may  live  50  years  or  even  more.


Gorillas  are  the  largest  primates. They  are  stock  animals  with  broad  chest  and  shoulders,  larger  hands   and  fore arms  that  are  much  shorter  than  the  upper  arm  . The  face  is  black  and  hairless  with  small  eyes  that  are  close  together  and  a  large  prominent  nostrils.

Adults  are  called  silverbacks  with  an  area   of  white  hair  on  their  back. Adult  males  are  identified   by  a sagittal  crest  along  the  midline  of  the  skull.

Gorillas  have  got  patchy  distribution.

Gorilla  infants  are  helpless  at  birth  and  weigh  3 – 4 lbs. They  learn  to  crawl   about  2 months  and  walk  by  the  time  they  are  8 – 9 months. Gorilla  mothers  nurse  their  babies  up  to  3 – 4  years.


Mating  season;        Thought out  the  year.

Gestation  period;    8 – 5 months.


  • Mountain  Gorillas  live  in  Uganda,  Rwanda,  and  in  the  Democratic  Republic  of  congo  (DRC)  and on  green  and  also  in  the  volcanic  mountains. Mountain gorillas are the most common specie habituated for tourism. Travelers can visit the habituated families on gorilla safaris in Uganda, Rwanda and DR Congo.
  • Eastern Lowland gorillas live in Eastern Congo – Kahuzi Biega National Park and Maiko National Park
  • Western Lowland  gorillas  are found with in 6 countries and live with the  forests of  central  and  Western  Africa.


The  classification  or  taxonomy  of  gorillas  according  to the  integratedTaxonic  information  system  (ITIS)  is  as  follows:

Kingdom:    Animalia

Sub kingdom   :  Bilateria

Infra kingdom  :  Deuterostomia

Phylum : Chordata

Sub phylum : Vertebrata

Infra phylum  : Gnathostomata

Super  class  : Tetrapoda

Class  : Mammalia

Sub class : Theria

Infra class : Eutheria

Order :  Primates

Sub order  : Haplorrhini

Infra order :  Simiiformes

Super family  : Hominoidea

Family  :  Hominidae

Sub  family : Homininae

Genus and  species: Gorilla  gorilla, Gorilla  beringei

Sub  species : Gorilla  gorilla  gorilla ( Western  lowland  gorilla)

  • Gorilla gorilladiehli  (  Cross River gorilla)
  • Gorilla  beringei  graueri  (  Eastern  lowland  gorilla )
  • Gorilla  beringei beringei  (  Mountain  gorilla)